Mercado/De Dios and Talavera/Rima Win @ Poppy Ridge

By: Clement Yu, Saturday, May 11th, 2013 04:54 am PST
Filed under: DLS Greens

May 11, 2013 — Twenty golfers competed at this month’s tournament held at the rolling hills of Poppy Ridge Golf Club in Livermore.The DLS Greens 2013 Tour departed from its usual stroke play tournament and used the best ball format to determine this month’s winners. Ron Riego De Dios won anyway for the second consecutive month, this time in tandem with Joji Mercado. The duo scored 12-under par 60 to win the A division. This however wasn’t the day’s lowest net score. That honor went to the winning pair for the B division, Gilbert Talavera and Jun Rima, who shot an amazing 14-under par 58. Like Ron, Gilbert won his second consecutive tournament of the year. However, Gilbert relied partly on his partner Jun’s better play to win again.

The golfers enjoyed unseasonably warm 90F weather that was eased up by mild afternoon breeze. The winners in both divisions won handily. Joji and Ron were two strokes better than runners-up Manny Nogueraand Irvin Sevilla. The Division A winners posted their division’s lowest front and back nine net scores of the day. In fact, Ron played spectacular golf to score the day’s lowest gross score of 3 over par 75. Ron also got closest-to-the-pin bragging rights on 141-yard 7th hole. Manny won the other bragging right on hole # 16, which measures 116 yard.

At Division B, Gilbert and Jun scored steady 29 scores on both nines to post their net 58 score. Six strokes back were second placers Nani Ramirez and Bobby Panlasigue.

The golfers enjoyed  the best ball format. Aside from the fun of strategizing the handicap system for the best ball format, the tournament also made available four slots to the year-end Golfer-of-the-Year tournament for the individual members of each winning team. Ron and Gilbert have actually qualified for the GOY tourney but this month’s format afforded Joji and Jun to take their shot at the award.

The complete net scores:

Division A

60     Ron Riego De Dios/ Joji Mercado

62     Irvin Sevilla/Manny Noguera

64     Jun Quique/Robby Reyes

67     Mari Valles/Lou Madamba

71     Matt Hizon/Mike Manalo

Division B

58     Jun Rima/Gilbert Talavera

64     Nani Ramirez/Bobby Panlasigue

67     Jun Magbitang/Mandy Rosales

69     Rico Medina/Orly Mayor

72     Clem Yu/Bill Gardner