Consunji Is 2013 Tour Champion; Yu, Rosales Win, Too!

By: Clement Yu, Saturday, October 26th, 2013 12:41 am PST
Filed under: DLS Greens

Oct. 26, 2013Tom Consunji (in glasses below being awarded his winning trophy by DLSAANC President Irvin Sevilla) made sure to celebrate his birthday today by scoring well below his age to run away with the year’s Golfer of the Year Award.

Tom scored the day’s low gross of 74 to end up with a net 66 to win by three strokes over Clem Yu, who nevertheless topped Flight A honors after edging Froi Lomotan in the scorecard tie-breaker. Tom had 7 pars and a birdie in his first 8 holes before coughing up a double bogey at the Callippe’s second longest hole, the 513-yard Hole #9. Tom’s long drive also served him well at the 528-yard Hole #18, which he birdied to make up for two bogeys he had at the back nine.

In Flight B, Mandy Rosales’ net 68 also was 3 strokes better than runner-up Jim Feysbaksh, who beat Jun Rima in a scorecard tie-breaker.

The day’s closest-to-the-pin bragging rights went to Irvin Sevilla at the 116-yard Hole # 6 and Ron Riego de DIos at the 137-yard Hole # 13.

The year’s last tournament was held at the Callippe Preserve Golf Course in Pleasanton. The golfers teed up under chilly conditions at 9a but enjoyed warm autumn weather soon thereafter. Callippe GC was in good condition too. The Brian Costello-designed course demanded strategic course management as the golfers navigated the relatively short 6,024-yard white tees. Twenty-eight (28)  signed-up for the year’s last tournament but one failed to show up. Everybody nevertheless enjoyed the tournament, especially since it incorporated the Tournament of Champion (TOC) competition which involved winners of the year’s tournaments. In all, ten golfers qualified for the TOC from the year’s seven tournaments. They were: Clem Yu (Las Positas; Shadow Lakes A Division); Gilbert Talavera (Monarch Bay B Division); Ron Riego De Dios(Monarch Bay A Division; Poppy Ridge Team; Metropolitan); Joji Mercado (Poppy Ridge Team);Orly Mayor (Summitpointe); Mike Manalo (Bridges Team); Lou Madamba (Bridges Team); Jojo Espiritu (Bridges Team); Tom Consunji (Shadow Lakes Low Gross) and Nani Ramirez (Shadow Lakes B Division).

The complete scores:

Golfer of the Year

66     Tom Consunji

Flight A

69     Clem Yu

          Froi Lomotan

71     Manny Noguera

73     Irvin Sevilla

          Matt Hizon

          Gene Espiritu

          Ron Riego De Dios

76     Sonny Ramirez

82      Lou Madamba

90     Tony Colmenares

DNF  Mike Manalo

Flight B

68     Mandy Rosales

71     Jim Feyzbakhsh

          Jun Rima

72     Nani Ramirez

          Gilbert Talavera

74     Romi Beza

76     Bobby Panlasigue

         Nutsie Maloles

82     Orly Mayor

          Jun Magbitang

86     Bill Gardner

89     Dino Africa

94     Del Martin

101   Ed Bondoc

DNF  Robby Reyes

NS     Rico Medina