Sevilla Elected President

By: Clement Yu, Sunday, November 7th, 2010 01:52 pm PST
Filed under: Headlines!

Nov. 7, 2010Irvin Sevilla LSGH GS’81 HS’85 was elected president at the general assembly and elections held at Manila Garden Restaurant in Hayward. Also elected were the following:

Arnold Mercado LSGH GS’79, Vice-President; Yo Aquino Lia’81, Treasurer; and Caloy Narciso LSGH GS’71 LiaCom’77, Secretary; as well as the following board directors:

Jojo Flores LSGH GS’81 HS’85; Jerry Gutierrez; Matt Hizon BSME’82; Emma Magbitang BSC’78; and Manny Noguera GS’61 HS’65 LiaCom’70. Outgoing President Art Dancel BSC’72 is automatically the board’s ex-officio.

In accordance with the association’s by-laws, the following alumni were also appointed to the board:

Tom Consunji GS’64 LSGH HS’68; Chito de los Santos; Orly Mayor LS Lipa HS’64 BSC’68;

Gilbert Talavera and Clement Yu LSGH GS’72 HS’76. Chito, Gilbert and Clement are first-time officers in the association and are being counted on to inject energy. Tom and Manny join Art as former presidents of the association to guide the board as necessary.

Irvin was this year’s co-secretary (with Caloy Narciso) and was very active in organizing numerous activities this year, among them the monthly Tambayans, golf tournaments (Irvin won this year’s Fil-Am tournament) and the summer picnic.

PVP (Small)

Not surprisingly, Irvin is one of the lead organizers of this year’s Christmas dinner-dance concert party, “Green and White Christmas with Joey Albert,” which will be held at the Marriott Hotel on Saturday Dec. 11. Irvin’s fellow executive officers are likewise young but were members of the outgoing board of directors and carry years of active participation in association affairs. In much sense, the new officers are young but experienced. The newly-elected executive officers and directors will have the distinction of serving during next year’s celebration of De La Salle’s centennial year in the Philippines. They have indicated they will do their share in toasting the milestone year-long event. (The picture shows our new president and vice-president, Irvin (L) and Arnold (R), respectively.)

The election was overseen by the three-man “COMELEC” (Commission on Elections) team of Bobby Panlasigue, Caloy Narciso and Joe Sicat. Twelve were nominated to the board but three declined. Since only nine alumni were needed to complete the board, the remaining nominees were elected by acclamation. The nine elected directors then chose the presently-constituted executive officers.

Congratulations to the new officers and Board of Directors!